• The SMB Scoop
  • Posts
  • đźź  What's a small business HoldCo? - 3 success stories

đźź  What's a small business HoldCo? - 3 success stories

HoldCos have been around for ages, they take many different forms

The SMB Scoop back, I’ll admit I’ve been slacking recently. I’m hiring someone to help me get my personal house in short order so I will be more consistent with sending out this newsletter weekly.

This week is about HoldCos. Not sure what a HoldCo is? Big Deal Small Business wrote a post called HoldCo Discussion - great job at describing what a HoldCo is and where it exists in the entrepreneurship through acquisition (ETA) spectrum.

Permanent Equity HoldCo doesn’t intend to sell, no management fees, no investor control, no use of debt

$30M revenue foundry HoldCo - started with one $2.7M revenue acquisition in 2017

Marmon Group - from a $3M rev bicycle manufacturer to an empire worth billions

Check out the SMB Capital Connector platform I created:

  • For entrepreneurs seeking to raise acquisition capital from 475+ accredited SMB investors. Must own the business or have an acquisition under LOI.

  • For investors seeking passive small business investments (with good sponsors)

Ben Tiggelaar